Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

100K mile LQ4 shortblock ....

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2008, 10:37 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 100K mile LQ4 shortblock ....

Total newbie question ..
Summary: I am on a budget (family and all that)... have a 69 Camaro that needs a new engine ... can buy a 100K mile LQ4 for $1300 to start a build ... want a solid streetable car.

What is the wisest way to spend my money?

Buy this engine and have it cleaned/honed/checked/rebuilt, put on heads,cam,intake etc. for some more pep and basically have a new engine. I have never built an engine or have the tools to do so. or...

Buy one w/ fewer miles (50K) for $1700.. don't do any of the other work except put the heads on and change the cam/intake.

I have no clue how expensive it is to pay someone to clean/check/ and put back together a block. What does this usually cost? I don't mind spending money, I just do not want to waste money. Is there a wiser path to follow?

I could also buy already built up used I guess.

There is so much information here I get a headache. Heck I can't even comprehend 1/2 of the posts on this board. I am just looking for some guidance from others experience. Thanks for everyones time and patience with me.
Old 05-28-2008, 10:54 PM
TECH Fanatic

If you already have all the parts machining cleaning boring, honing, Balancing, and assembly of the short block usually runs 1000-1500$
Old 05-28-2008, 11:32 PM
On The Tree

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

u said u dont have the tools then i'd just go buy lower miles one so u dont have to mess with it.
Old 05-29-2008, 03:24 AM
Staging Lane