Introductions & Greetings New to the site? Say hello!

New Guy On The Block

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2006, 02:54 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Guy On The Block

Hey, I'm Josh from Scottsdale AZ. I just bought a '94 LT1 Camaro Z/28 so I'm quite new to the F-Body gang, and even the whole small block EFI tuning crowd for that matter. I had originally planned on going with a simple and cost effective way about upgrading this car, and I assured myself that (unlike my last project car, the Dart) I would save money and go about my work slowly. Reading through the overwhelming assortment of parts available for F-Bodies, though, my attitude has changed slightly.

Originally, I intended to go solely with the car's breathing (intake, MAP upgrade, 52mm TB, a cat-back, and headers) to make for a good sounding, strong running car on a "budget" that I would establish for myself. Then, as usual, I got to thinking, "well cams are fairly cheap and relatively easy to install" and that quickly evolved into "new heads and rocker arms, springs, etc. are needed if I do that." So basically I'm back to square 1, just the way I was with my other car (which I eventually had 35 grand into before I realized that I was flat broke). I had intended to limit myself to less than two grand originally, but I am weak, and when I first laid eyes on the LT4 kit my budget was blown to hell already.

I'm leaning twoards a conversion to LT4 right now, with Pacesetter headers, GMMG catback, a B&M short throw kit coulped with a CAGS elimination unit, ST lowering springs, Moroso CAI, GMS MAP, and a BBK twin 52 or 58mm throttle body, among other components, on top of that. I also need to put some reasonable rims on it (the stock equipment isnt cutting it). I'll think of more as I go I'm sure.