LS4 Performance Grand Prix GXP | Monte Carlo SS | Impala SS | LaCrosse Super

2002 Monte Carlo SS Woes

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2009, 07:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 Monte Carlo SS Woes

Everything was fine with my "new to me" Monte. I initially notice some hard shifting into reverse no matter what. The dealership told me is was to be expected for a vehicle of that age. I did not buy that excuse then and I am not sure that is normal now. To attempt to appease me they put in new motor mounts up front. All around the motor mounts are in fantastic condition.

Anyways, a few weeks went by and I noticed some hard shifts while driving. Every single shift was hard. I shut her off and started her back up, the hard shifting stopped. No error codes, no check engine light.

I've been driving this car as a daily driver for the last three months. Now the problem is there appears to be a delay in all shifts above Park into 1st. In other words, I have to accelerate very careful to keep the motor from revving up and down repeatedly. From 2nd to 3rd it does this but it is far worse from 3rd to 4th where it appears to slip and catch repeatedly. More careful acceleration (read slow) allows it to eventually get into gear and I am not sure it ever gets to Overdrive.

Also, when it does not want to shift, if I punch it any harder than a gentle acceleration (say no more than 20% open on the throttle), I hear a clicking, knocking, or banging coming from under the hood.

None of this is good as this is my only vehicle. Once last week, the check engine light flashed about four times while accelerating but it did not seem to set an error code (I checked with a friend's ODBII reader).

Help me. The dealership was not helpful then and I guess we'll see if they are helpful tomorrow morning. Any ideas?

Old 05-17-2009, 07:51 PM
TECH Regular