LS4 Performance Grand Prix GXP | Monte Carlo SS | Impala SS | LaCrosse Super

Weird Misfire Issue

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2017, 02:25 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Weird Misfire Issue

Hey, This is my first time posting to this forum but I have always found really helpful information on here, but my misfire is driving me nuts. I have a 2007 Grand Prix GXP with around 170k miles. It recently started misfiring. I had the code checked and it showed a cylinder 4 misfire. I replaced the plugs and wires all within the last year, so I changed the coil. Problem was still there so I changed the injector. Still misfiring. The only thing left I can think of would be a wiring issue to the injector or coil. I haven't had time to check that out yet though. There is some damage to the right front speed sensor wiring that causes the speedometer to fritz occasionally but that just recently started as well. I plan on fixing that soon as well. Is there a possibility that they are related? From what I understand it shouldn't but with all the electronics and DOD I could be wrong. Any ideas on what it could be? Thanks.
Old 04-19-2017, 08:13 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Just because the plugs and wires were recently replaced doesn't mean they can't be the problem. Check the resistance on that wire and swap the plug to see if the code moves to another cylinder.
Old 04-19-2017, 08:47 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by rottonj
Just because the plugs and wires were recently replaced doesn't mean they can't be the problem. Check the resistance on that wire and swap the plug to see if the code moves to another cylinder.