LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

T56 swap questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2010, 01:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry T56 swap questions

I have a 1995 Camaro Z28 currently is a T56 but previous owner swapped in the T56. He didnt take the time to do any wiring and because of that i have no speedometer, reverse lights, reverse lockout... the auto gear indicator is still hooked up and tapped in neutral so the car will start (no clutch safety switch). Im pretty new to the Camaro scene but I love the car, just wondering if i have to Install a manual trans Ecu or will the stock ecu work and how do i get my speed sensor and etc. to work?

any help is a +... thanks in advance
Old 02-07-2010, 02:47 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Swapping an A4 car to an M6 does not require a new PCM (however switching from an M6 to an A4 does). Check to make sure the VSS is plugged in the tailshaft of the transmission.
Old 02-07-2010, 03:20 PM
11 Second Club

Received 174 Likes on 133 Posts

You don't have to swap PCM's for either one..just get it reflashed.

K..this one is going to be a fun little project..got to love when people half-*** things..:Bang:

Is the Auto Tranny Plug still in the Harness? That will tell you that whoever did it kept the Auto Harness in. If they did then plug in the Speedo and that should have some kind of effect..it will be no where near correct.

If it was my car I would tear into everything and wire it like it was factory stock..I guess the best question at the moment is how much do you know about wiring and how comfortable are you doing it?
Old 02-08-2010, 07:58 AM

Thumbs down