LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

need help setting WOT tune.

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2010, 07:04 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question need help setting WOT tune.

i have a 97 WS.6 running a 94 Z28 motor and pcm. my mods are lt4 cam, shaved heads, long tube headers with x pipe and dual exhaust, 160 thermal stat ,stock ram air intake, 1.6rr and 02 ls1 injectors (28lbs).

before my car would always run rich, so i tried doing my own tune. i'm new to tuner cat and i've changed some settings and they are

the injector size to 28lbs
fans to turn on at 170
and %change to fuel/air ratio vs cool temp at 68c to 15.6 percent. i changed it because i guessed it would work better with the new operation temperature.

well the result are good when i was looking at freescan the blm was 128 and the integrators stayed at 128 while driving normal and idle. i havent had a chance to give it WOT to see how low the integrators get with free scan hooked up. but when i do give it WOT there is a cloud of black smoke behind my car indicating it running real rich. since i done my little bs tune it has been better but how do i tune fuel at WOT to make it a bit leaner? and how do i know my AFR is around 13.1 while in WOT without a wide band?

thanks for your time and help guys.
Old 06-05-2010, 07:30 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

The answer is you dont really ever know without a wide band. The narrow bands just arent reliable at that range, but you can get close.

You need to do a LOT of reading here and soak up the information http://www.lt1pcmtuning.com/tips

The 2 tables you will use are %Change to Fuel/Air Ratio vs Coolant Temp at WOT
and %Change to Fuel/Air Ratio vs RPM at WOT