LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

High Mileage Cam?

Old 07-06-2011, 07:17 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default High Mileage Cam?

Age old inquiry, I know. But here's my story. It's an LT1 with 180000 on the dot, oil has been changed with mobile 1(only) religiously, I recently changed the oil pan and gasket and the Interior looked so clean you could eat off it. But a week ago I was over the limit and needed a DD, so I asked my brother in law to drive. He didn't know how to drive a stick and hit the rev limited like there was no tomorrow. So I now have a bent push rod. When I removed the valve covers to watch it run, oil was flowing down each rocker like the Nile river.

I have a mild cam I've been sitting on for about three years and I'm dying to slap it in there. Any thoughts on replacing cam, crank bearings, piston rings ect. before I do so. Check the sig for current mods. Any info is much appreciated.

Thanks,
Cody
Old 07-06-2011, 07:46 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by flatbird
Age old inquiry, I know. But here's my story. It's an LT1 with 180000 on the dot, oil has been changed with mobile 1(only) religiously, I recently changed the oil pan and gasket and the Interior looked so clean you could eat off it. But a week ago I was over the limit and needed a DD, so I asked my brother in law to drive. He didn't know how to drive a stick and hit the rev limited like there was no tomorrow. So I now have a bent push rod. When I removed the valve covers to watch it run, oil was flowing down each rocker like the Nile river.

I have a mild cam I've been sitting on for about three years and I'm dying to slap it in there. Any thoughts on replacing cam, crank bearings, piston rings ect. before I do so. Check the sig for current mods. Any info is much appreciated.

Thanks,
Cody
Thus why NO ONE drives my car. Sorry to hear that happened. Hopefully tho you learned your lesson lol