LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

I Need Alot of help ASAP.

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2012, 10:54 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I Need Alot of help ASAP.

Hello I'm new to thus forum but have been reading it for awhile. I just recently after 8 years of wishing finally got my dream car 1996 Impala. I fell in love with the car when I first drove it at 15. Well I bought the car for a good price and when I bought the man said the engine top had been rebuilt last week but the lifters were bad. After letting a few backyard mechanics and seeing youtube I think it's a knocking rod. Now here's the dillema I'm just going to do a rebuild haha not me but anyways I found a lt4 engine with heads for 400 bucks. The guy said It came out of a 1995 Z28 Camaro that had a dashboard fire the miles are unknown he removed it over 8 yrs ago it's been in stored in a sea container. Now I have 2 options should I rebuild my engine with forged pistons and aluminum heads or should I get the aluminum block and get it ported and polish and inspected for quality? Also Im on a budget of 2000 so I can have money for new tires and life. Please I need all the help making me crazy can't get off my mind. Need help ASAP wanna have done ASAP.

Thank You for the help
Old 02-09-2012, 06:55 PM
TECH Regular

Originally Posted by SS Mike707