LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

newbie question on replacing engine on '94 transam

Old 07-18-2004, 03:06 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newbie question on replacing engine on '94 transam

ok...so i'm buying a new car and i'd really like a transam, was thinking of trying to find a '98 or '99 because they have the newer engine and well..i'm on a budget...but then i started thinking that it might be cheaper to find a '94 maybe '95 firebird with a trashed engine or one with extremely high mileage and replace it with a new one, and still have some money left over for some parts like new headers/catback...but honestly i'm a total newbie as far as cars are concerned. i'm really good with machines so i figure i can do most bolt-on stuff and i know a couple people who are really experienced mechanics that i don't really want to ask for help because they're busy but could if necessary, but i'm not quite sure what i'm getting into with replacing an engine.

i figured (probably wrongly) that replacing a 350 small block with another 350 small block would be a good choice, so i was figuring if i ended up doing this i'd order a zz4 or 350/385 small block fastburn..tho i'm of course open to any suggestions and i'm probably wrong on my choices anyways heh.

now let's say i go to put in a zz4 into a '94 transam...would that be a total PITA? or would it be pretty damn easy because they're the same ci? and if i wanted to say put on some new headers, would i have to have them custom made, or could i use ones designed for a firebird with an lt1? what all would i probably have to replace to accomade the zz4 is pretty much what i'm worried about, and would it be any improvement over an lt1?
then, if i put in some performance parts (assuming that's possible), how much could i increase the horsepower without having to replace a whole buncha stuff? and what would i have to replace. i was looking at a rearend kit from racenet performance that had