Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

bleeding clutch and hydrolics

Old 05-17-2012, 02:31 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default bleeding clutch and hydrolics

I just ordered my tick mc this morning, so next week ill be installing it along with my monster clutch. Im a broke college student so stretching the extra 50 bucks for the speed bleeder wasnt really ideal for me. So my question is, is bleeding the clutch and hydrolics really that much of a pita or with some patients is it simple? Keep in mind i dont have a lift and will be doing everything on jack stands in my driveway.
Old 05-17-2012, 04:18 PM
Launching!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

For bleeding, it can suck if you dont do it right the first time because you will have to re-bleed it later. It's a 10M or 12M bolt. You can do it with just the front end off the ground if you have to bleed it again though. Alot of people use a MityVac. I have heard that it works great but have not used one myself. I would imagine them not being too expencive either.
Old 05-17-2012, 04:23 PM
TECH Enthusiast

You can afford a 325 dollar part but 50 is stretching it? Lol. I highly suggest you wait until you can afford the remote bleeder. Its is one of the best mods you can do for our cars.
Old 05-17-2012, 04:44 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

^^^Being a broke college student I understand where the op is coming from after spending the coin on a monster clutch and tick mc that extra 50 bucks can really be pushing it. to the op what some people do is go under the car and mark a dimple in the floor board where the bleeder is on the tranny. then go in the car and drill a 1/2" hole in the floor and just use a wratchet and socket to bleed it. then just get a robber grommet from home depot to seal the hole back up
Old 05-17-2012, 04:46 PM
TECH Regular