Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

T56 conversion experience

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2014, 09:39 PM
10 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default T56 conversion experience

Let me start by saying that LS1tech has been a good resource for lots of things I've done to my car over the years (bought it in 03) and this big project was no exception. The point of this post is for the guys on the fence about doing something like this who like to gather all the info they can, so for those guys I thought I'd share how the last few months have gone with the car.

A little backround on me and the car, I'm a full time technician at a Chevy dealership, I'm not the go to tech for transmission work, my strong points are electrical and driveability. So when it came to building the trans I failed and sent that to Tick Performance, more on that to come. My Camaro is a 2002 that I've had over 10 years, went 10.6x multiple times on spray, Forged 370ci nitrous engine that I built, Performabuilt 4L60, Moser 9" and all the other supporting mods. I built, installed, and did all the tuning on the car myself, alignments, everything. Well I have been getting bored with the drag strip, and really didn't want to modify the car (cut it up, or install a cage) to try and go faster then 10s, or make it harder to drive on the street. It is and always has been my weekend toy, not a trailer queen.