Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Clutchless shifting

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2006, 07:43 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutchless shifting

I've been driving manuals on and off for a few years and haven't ever figured out how to shift without using the clutch. I know a few people that can do it because they have done it infront of me before but can't explain how to do it. It's frustrating.

If anybody knows how, try to explain it the best you can so I can go practice on my company truck first.
Old 03-06-2006, 07:45 PM
SSU's Drunk Typing Whore

Ummmmmmmmmmmm...probley not the best idea. Learn power shifting instead. keep her WOT while shifting.
Old 03-06-2006, 07:52 PM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by Lithium
Ummmmmmmmmmmm...probley not the best idea. Learn power shifting instead. keep her WOT while shifting.
I wasn't talking about when racing and what not, just cruising around on backroads or whatever. All I have ever heard from anybody is you have to match the rpm's with the gears or some crap like that.
Old 03-06-2006, 07:53 PM
On The Tree

match the rpms. Not a good idea though. I hear its not good, and if you mess up, it'll grind I did it once.
Old 03-06-2006, 07:54 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Not recommended, but handy to know (if your clutch doesn't want to disengage)
It's really a question of matching revs, when you upshift take your foot off the gas, take the car out of gear,and wait till the rpm drops to the point the shifter will go into the next higher gear, downshift, take foot off gas, take car out of gear, and add revs till the shifter goes into the gear you want.
FWIW this will damage/prematurely wear the synchros, so don't do it unless you have to (and if you waste your trans don't blame me for telling you how to do it)
Old 03-06-2006, 08:01 PM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by 2K2WS6TA
Not recommended, but handy to know (if your clutch doesn't want to disengage)