Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question about steam lines

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2014, 11:18 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about steam lines

I have completed the installation of an LS1 from a 2000 Camaro into my 57 chevy. I am having some odd issues with heating that don't really make sense.
It seems that I am having trouble getting the engine to "burp" all of the air out.
My question today is: If I take the hose loose from the steam line near the throttle body inlet, should this have a full flow of coolant out? Mine has a has a very small flow, which will pick up some if I rev the engine up, otherwise the flow is near none.
This makes me wonder if I may have a plug somewhere in the steam line system.
Will I damage anything to blow back with an air hose? Should it have a full flow out if the engine is running?
I am new to the LS engines and don't want to do anything to damage anything.

Thanks for any help.
Tom
Old 10-19-2014, 08:53 AM
TECH Addict

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

That is just what the name implies...vent. It is not designed to have a lot of flow. It's designed to avoid said air/steam pockets. Most route this into the radiator or expansion/overflow tank as the throttle body connection is suboptimal for performance. Do you have two or four (head)corners hooked up? When you say you are having odd issues with heating, do you mean your heater, or cooling issues with the motor?
Old 10-19-2014, 11:51 AM
Teching In

Cooling issues. The car will do fine on highway, but will heat up and do some internal gurgling when you get into town or just idle at the shop. if the radiator cap is off it will puke coolant out. at highway speeds it runs 190ish . does this with heater on or off. Acts to me like still has some air trapped somewhere. Griffin aluminum radiator, stock type downflow with dual electric fans. steam line plumbed into top of water pump with throttle body heater bypassed.
Old 10-19-2014, 02:52 PM
TECH Addict