Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Nitrous and Meth

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2012, 12:50 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nitrous and Meth

Whats up guys, this may come as a little strange to you but this topic isn't about the LSx series of engines. The motors in my car are still being pioneered and explored and I was hoping that I can learn from you guys at LS1tech. So I have a J35a3 from an Acura MDX stroked to a 3.6l hooked up to an acura cl type s 6 speed transmission in a 1998 honda accord coupe. I'm in the 310hp and 320+lbs at the wheels range. I planned on boosting the engine to about 20lbs on a precision 7675 and I was expecting around 900whp with that, on factory internals. Yes, these motors are that strong. The whole turbo build fell through since I'm an engineering student and didn't have the time/funds to finish my build. A friend of mine has a J32a2 motor (3.2l) that he is spraying for about the last year on a 150 wet shot with 0 signs of detonation (tuned of course) on a factory ecu with a stock motor. About a month or two ago he bumped it up to a 200 shot in a direct port kit and made 420whp and 480 or so lbs on a completely stock motor. He's been through a lot of bottles since then and has 0 signs of detonation and this car is his daily driver. So i plan on picking up the same direct port kit he has and running at least the same size shot. Now, can meth benefit me in any way. I know the properties of methanol and the properties of nitrous. They both drop the temps considerably, the only thing is if I am running a 250-300 direct port shot I'm worried about detonation. So i thought about throwing in meth to the mix to help keep the temps down along with its octane boosting properties. Having around 500whp and 600lbs of tq is the goal. You guys if anyone would be able to help me solve this dilemma because 1. our motors are not set up at all like other hondas, 2. our displacement is more like you guys then the 1.6l rice burners. 3. spra