Paint & Body Work Custom Painting | Panel Repairs & Replacement

Parbreak: which paint set to buy?

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2007, 09:45 PM
Restricted User - Non Spon Soliciting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Parbreak: which paint set to buy?

I am an airbrush artist and work with createx acrylics on canvas and paper. Now, I am wanting to learn the art form of automotive painting and want to start out small. First, what do you suggest I practice on that will be cheap? Second, I am looking at this gun set, what do you think? http://www.ketone.com/ I was looking at getting a HOK color set in 4oz base coats, but it is $100. How do you feel about auto air colors? I can get a lot more for my $ to practice on. I believe these are also ready to roll out of the bottle. THanks for any help. Others feel free to chime in too.

thanks!
Old 01-25-2007, 09:50 PM
Restricted User - Non Spon Soliciting

oh, btw...I have an Iwata HP-C Revolution airbrush...I was told it was able to spray automotive paint, a pretty versatile gun...is this true, b/c once I throw the base down, I would love to experiement with airbrushing automotive paint. Thanks!
Old 01-25-2007, 09:57 PM
TECH Senior Member

talk to tumblrws6
Old 01-26-2007, 02:18 AM
TECH Addict

That gun set looks perfectly fine to start out with. You'll probably find as you get better you'll want to upgrade at least the basecoat/clearcoat gun to a better model.

I can't speak to AutoAir colors as I have not shot them. I shoot only 2K paints, whereas these are waterborne paints. That being said they are a lot less dangerous on your lungs. My understanding is they are mainly used for graphics on other basecoats. You would need to buy a LOT of 4 oz. bottles to do an entire car.

Best thing to practice on I've found is simply get yourself a 2'X2' piece of metal and prime it and use it as a test panel. I keep one here all the time and try out new colors, etc. on it to see how it will look.