Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

402 stroker hp tuners help

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2011, 07:22 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 402 stroker hp tuners help

Im on a quick build the army is moving me to germany in less then a week and im just about done installing the ls2 stroker in my 1998 WS6. I will have hp tuners tomorrow and i am very new to tuning. can anyone tell me what i need to do before i try starting it up and screw something up to begin the tuning? unfortunatly it has the stock fuel system and intake and 241 heads. and it has the torquer V3 Cam 231/234 .643 .598 it has -8cc pistons and close to 11 to 1 compression. I will have the engine back in on weds and want to start it on thursday.
Old 05-09-2011, 08:14 PM
10 Second Club

Auto or Manual? There's quite a bit of tuning involved for a LS2 402 even for a mild setup like yours. Since you're new to tuning I would recommend waiting until you get back so you can immerse yourself without distractions. You will find out once you start tuning you will become somewhat obsessed with it. I would also recommend reading alot to better understand how the PCM works so you can interpret the scan tool data (which is your best friend when tuning).

With that said, you should always start with injectors first and move to the VE and MAF tables, then work your way to the idle airflow and spark tables. That's an over simplification, because there's more involved.
Old 05-10-2011, 05:57 PM
Teching In