Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What causes tip in knock

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2012, 11:30 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What causes tip in knock

My car has always had it. From the time I put a small cam in the stock motor until now. I've changed a lot of things. When it was on the dyno I was thinking it would get straightened out but he couldn't get a proper fuel ratio due to needing a bigger fuel pump. I installed an aeromotive 340. I don't want to take it back to the dyno only to need something else. When it gets tuned this time I w ant it to be done. Any ideas?
Old 12-19-2012, 12:37 PM
TECH Fanatic

Is it burst knock? I assuming that what your referring to. I'm not an expert by any means but my understanding of it is that on any major change in throttle position or engine load the PCM pulls spark in anticipation of possible knock. There is a burst knock table in the PCM that deals with this
Old 12-19-2012, 12:54 PM
Launching!

That may be what it is. My PCM is a 98. Not sure if it had these tables but I will look. It only seems to knock when you are moving the throttle open. Seems to stop when you stop pushing the pedal down
Old 12-19-2012, 03:19 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by outkast6991
Is it burst knock? I assuming that what your referring to. I'm not an expert by any means but my understanding of it is that on any major change in throttle position or engine load the PCM pulls spark in anticipation of possible knock. There is a burst knock table in the PCM that deals with this