Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4l80e tuning

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2013, 11:53 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 4l80e tuning

I have a 68 firebird with a lq4 and 4l80e in it, ls6 cam, intake, 28 lb. injectors and long tubes, otherwise stock. Also, stock pickup torque convertor, seems to be just fine, idles nice, etc. I have some tuning experience with big stuff and fast systems, and have the motor running great. I want the trans to shift the 1-2 softer under light throttle, as the car will be more of a cruiser, and driven by a woman primarily. It will chirp the tires almost every time, which would be ok if driven hard, but not just driving round town. I made the shifting later than it was originally, and since then it shifts too hard. I really don't want the car in second at 8-10 mph, so I don't want to go back to that. I have the force motor reduced to 1.1 volts (minimum pressure) over the top third of the table, and smoothed the remaining table for a nice transition; this softened everything as expected. Raising these numbers further doesn't help. I was able to raise the base 2-3 and 3-4 to get a sporty, quick shift back, but 1-2 is still too harsh. I lengthened the 1-2 shift time, seems to do nothing, tried increasing the torque reduction, no help, so I expect I need to go inside the tranny and change an accumulator spring or something related. Any ideas or suggestions? Thanks, Rob.
Old 10-15-2013, 01:13 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

did you read the stickies in the auto trans section look at post #9,https://ls1tech.com/forums/automatic...lush-more.html
Old 10-15-2013, 03:09 PM
Teching In