PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo

Turbo car sensor reading and placement

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2016 | 06:09 PM
Staging Lane

Default Turbo car sensor reading and placement

First of all I apologize if this is in the wrong section

I bought a turbo car 2002 f-body, iron block 376. Ls3 intake and heads custom cam. It has a tc76mm turbo with truck manifold setup mounted in the front of the engine.
The problem is it's not running 100% and I went to read the live data and first noticed the o2 monitor was not set. So I picked up a couple new o2's. Then the problem. I noticed bank 2 oxygen sensor is in the down pipe. And the crossover pipe has the wideband in it? I am new to turbo cars but it doesn't look right.
Bank 1 o2 is in the crossover pipe and plugged into the factory harness.
Is there any reason for the other Bank to be swapped like that?
Thanks guys
Old 04-14-2016 | 11:07 PM
9 Second Club

Bank 1 / Sensor 1 should be in the driver's side exhaust manifold
Bank 2 / Sensor 1 should be in the passenger side exhaust manifold

Bank 1 & 2 / Sensor 2 should be deleted. This is the position for sensors downstream of the catalytic converter.

The wideband O2 sensor should be installed in the downpipe, a minimum of 18" downstream of the turbo.
Old 04-15-2016 | 06:29 AM
Staging Lane

Originally Posted by Chevy406
Bank 1 / Sensor 1 should be in the driver's side exhaust manifold
Bank 2 / Sensor 1 should be in the passenger side exhaust manifold

Bank 1 & 2 / Sensor 2 should be deleted. This is the position for sensors downstream of the catalytic converter.

The wideband O2 sensor should be installed in the downpipe, a minimum of 18" downstream of the turbo.

Thanks, exactly what I thought. Swapped everything back to what I thought was correct and it ran great. And my data straightened out. I was 99% sure it was wrong, but being my first turbo car figured I would ask.