Notices
PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Diablo | Pantera EFI

What to watch for to keep it from gernading

Old 08-09-2018, 11:06 AM
Launching!

Default What to watch for to keep it from gernading

I am a newbie tuner self tuning an LQ4/cam/799 fbody swap with HPTuners pro, have it idling pretty well and driving it while babying it because it's a necessary DD for me. It's been getting me to work and back.

Other than watching that it never goes too lean under higher RPM/load (I have a wideband, will be watching for anything worse than 15AFR normal driving for now, because other threads imply I safe numbers are around 12.8 under power and a leaner 14.8 for normal cruising), what else is CRITICAL that I must watch to keep the engine from blowing up? Anything? I mean other than the obvious of overheating or low oil pressure, which mostly have nothing to do with the tune I assume.

EDIT: also logging and listening for KR/detonation

I have been copying a lot of stuff from other tunes, am worried I'm going to do the wrong thing while I am learning this stuff, killing this LQ4 would be a big problem for me.

Last edited by mk3cn4; 08-09-2018 at 01:18 PM.
Old 08-09-2018, 02:54 PM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by mk3cn4 View Post
I am a newbie tuner self tuning an LQ4/cam/799 fbody swap with HPTuners pro, have it idling pretty well and driving it while babying it because it's a necessary DD for me. It's been getting me to work and back.

Other than watching that it never goes too lean under higher RPM/load (I have a wideband, will be watching for anything worse than 15AFR normal driving for now, because other threads imply I safe numbers are around 12.8 under power and a leaner 14.8 for normal cruising), what else is CRITICAL that I must watch to keep the engine from blowing up? Anything? I mean other than the obvious of overheating or low oil pressure, which mostly have nothing to do with the tune I assume.

EDIT: also logging and listening for KR/detonation