Road Racing Road Course | Autocross

road race suspension

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2005, 12:20 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default road race suspension

I have recently traded up from my 02 M3 to an 01 WS6 and need ideas for suspension to make the thing handle like the M3. I am looking for either an all inclusive package with stuff like subframe connectors, strut tower brace, springs, shocks, sways, and all hardware. If I have to get the parts individually i would like to know where I can get them and what brands work. Im kinda new to the LS1 parts. I don't want to look like som stupid lowrider so im only looking for a mild drop. No compromising performance for looks.

I was looking at the Hotchkis TVS kit with some bilstien shocks. However a good friend (who never has driven a new f-body with that suspension package) told me it might be too soft. I am really looking for something with a good firm (rock solid) feel that'll go well with my new 12 bolt. Thanks.
Old 07-14-2005, 10:02 PM
jrp
SN95 Director

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

LGM and talk with loius ---->
Old 07-15-2005, 02:39 AM
Teching In

sorry, I'm new here. who's louis and whats lgm? thanks
Old 07-15-2005, 08:20 AM

Here's some quality places that will have the hardware you are looking for. I've provideed a comprehensive list of manufacturers. I would not advise going with Eibach springs, as I'm not a fan of variable rate springs. They're a pain. I would also advise not using polyurethane at all in your suspension because of it's problems. Just use 1LE components if possible. Here's a website that can provide you with part numbers on the 1LE; http://www.1le.net/

http://www.hrsprings.com/
http://www.hypercoils.com/

It sounds like you might also consider using rod ends whenever it's possible. A word to the wise on that end, there's alot of places that will sell you control arms and trailing arms with rod ends, but their quality is suspect.
Old 07-16-2005, 03:52 PM
Teching In