Road Racing Road Course | Autocross

Newbie AutoCross Question.

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2006 | 01:11 PM
Teching In

Default Newbie AutoCross Question.

I'm a noob that will participate next weekend and have a couple of questions. Will be using 02 ws6
1) Is the battery secure enough to past tech inspection or do I need addition strap to hold it down.
2) I have a Snell 05 helmet, what else do I need?
3) I think they said no shoe polish for numbering the car, can I use masking tape?
4) Its suppose to rain that day, can I run with the T-Top on. I know this question may depend on the organizers, but in general do most of them allow them to be on
Old 03-17-2006 | 01:58 PM
TECH Regular

Well at my autocross in Va my battery was plenty secure. They just dont want it flopping around. We also just have to have a snell helmet. Some people will bring racing shoes and gloves but it is not neccessary. We can use shoe polish but masking tape will work just fine. As for the t-top question I do not know. Maybe someone else can chime in and tell you.
-Brandon
Old 03-19-2006 | 08:21 PM
TECH Apprentice

You can run with your t-tops in or out. Based on the general competition rules, you can't use a 5 point harness without the tops on (unless you have a cage)

Your helmet is fine, and the stock battery retainer is fine if the battery isn't loose.
Old 03-22-2006 | 05:51 PM
Teching In

A couple of tips...

walk the track many times and memorize it - got to know where you're going

spinning and sliding is fun but not fast - straighten the wheel as the turn ends and squeeze the gas as you head toward the next turn/slalom, be patient by not punching the throttle

running from corner to corner making hard/sharp turns is not fast - make smooth and rounded transitions