Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Was hoping for some guidance to some performance

Search this Thread

Old Today, 12:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Was hoping for some guidance to some performance

Well for starters I have a 2001 Chevy Silverado 1500 Ext Cab 4.8l. Fresh or somewhat fresh Motor and Trans about 25k ago.
It's the 4.8l w/ 4l60e Stock other than I've cut the exhaust off for now, moved the pipe to the rear, and put a resonator on it, still have stock cats, and i have a CAI installed, nothing fancy, do have a heater mod, but that's beside the point.
So, I'm thinking of adding some hp, I'm a disabled Vet, and not rich, so I don't have a lot of cash but was hoping someone here could help me pick out the best option that adds HP/TQ for cheap, but I don't per say like cheap jobs.
I think a cam kit, with a decent Exhaust will be the way to go, put unsure.
Facts to consider
I want to retain fuel milage or boost? not really possible, I know.
I have changed the tire size: Stock was 235/75r16 I have LT245/70r17 now, almost 2 1/2 taller difference.
I have POS 3.42 Gears, that I can't change because I am scared to, because everyone says you have to get the right. and not paying someone $2500 for one set "NOT 4WD". when a gear set costs $500 or so.