Sam

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2016, 07:22 AM
12 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Sam

Yeah I know most of you guys are going to tell me to do a search... I have and have not found an answer to what I am looking for.

Right now I'm taking a break from college at Texas state. I have roughly 2 more years elfin my degree plan and I am having mixed thoughts on the degree and what I want to do for work the rest of my life. My degree is in construction science and management with a minor is business administration. But now I am at a crossroad. I'm interested in my degree field and everything but I truly do enjoy and stay interested in the automotive aspects more. My delima is finding a job after school and pay. Right now on my break period I'm working in a polymer plant making 21.16 an hour with no experience at all. For my current degree plan I'm not to sure on what the pay start off is. So I'm curious as to what most Sam graduates are able to get for start off pay and where it might cap off for them...... And how hard it was to find a job for them afterwards... I'm not wanting to get a job thats never going to take me anywhere or make my life stagnant. I want to work in a field I truly am going to enjoy.

What are your guys thoughts. What would you do? Can you get a job out of Sam and eventually work up to a nice pay?
Old 02-11-2016, 07:57 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Go spend some time with the Manufacturing Engineering guys if you want to get a taste for what SAM has to offer.

You can practice on the bridgeports, CNC machines, etc.

Manufacturing is VERY strong in the Central Texas region. Work for companies like Samsung, Apple, Intel, Applied Materials, Thermon, C-Fan, BAE, etc.

If you are already doing Construction Science, I know you spend enough time in that building. Go talk with some of the professors and see what they have to say.

I am an Alumnus of the program, btw.
Old 02-11-2016, 08:25 AM
TECH Enthusiast