Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

Is something wrong with my air ratchet?

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2004, 10:49 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is something wrong with my air ratchet?

I'm new to the air tool world here, I just bought a Coleman 6hp 27 gallon model and it came with a air tool kit..I tried out the the impact wrench and it worked great taking my lug nuts off but when I tried the air ratchet to take a nut off my water pump it just turned taking my hand with it..Isn't this thang supposed to have the same hammer--impact type action as my wrench??..if not , where can I get one that does??

Thanks
Dave
Old 04-25-2004, 11:37 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Nope. Air ratchets are all torque baby. Knuckle breakers and elbow stretchers

Ingersoll makes a "reactionless" air ratchet that's not supposed to tug like that, but I've never tried it and I've heard it has no power.

I never had a problem with my Snap On air ratchet though, and that thing's 60ft/lbs. more than any Coleman ratchet I'm sure. Just gotta be ready for it, that's all.
Old 04-25-2004, 11:49 AM
Restricted User

The air ratchets dont have as much nut-breaking force as the guns. They are more or less used for spinning nuts off things at under 50 ft-lbs. + or - 10ft-lbs.
At least that has been my experience.
Old 04-26-2004, 01:44 AM
Teching In