Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Sound setup help (speakers, etc.)

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2007, 05:30 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sound setup help (speakers, etc.)

Hey guys, I'm new to the f-body workings, as I just got my '98 Firebird Form. just under a month ago. I've messed with car stereo stuff some, but by no means am I an expert. I've been doing a lot of research on here, and I have a relatively crazy plan and I'm curious as to whether or not it will work. I have the monsoon sound system, and from what I understand, I have a 200ish Watt amp powering my component 6.5"s in the front (one channel per speaker, each at 2 ohms, we'll call these Channels A and B), my 6.5" subs next to the rear seats (2 of its channels per sub, each at 4 ohms, these will be Channels C, D, E, and F), and the 4" speakers in the back (1 channel per speaker, each at 4 ohms, finally these will be Channels G and H), and then the tweeters in the front and rear are powered by the headunit. In my old car that I'm preparing to get rid of, I have 2 JL 10w0 subs running off an Audiobahn 1801T (1120W mono-channel amp), as well as a set of Pioneer TS-D161R, which are 4 ohm, 6.5" speakers with a mounting depth of 2 3/8". I also have a set of Audiobahn ABC5002 4 ohm 5.25" components with a 1" tweeter, as well as a set of crossovers for them and a 2.4 Farad capacitor laying around. What I'm trying to figure out is if I can put the 6.5" pioneers in place of the 6.5" subs next to the rear seats, and use Channels C and D for those speakers. First off, will those mount in that spot? Then, if I put the Audiobahn Components (using some mounting brackets they came with to get them flush with the 6.5" brackets) in the front and hook them up to the E and F 4 ohm channels, and just cap off the A and B channels, will the speakers receive the proper amounts of wattage? I will also wire in the capacitor an