Appearance & Detailing Interior & Exterior Appearance Modifications

educate me

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2006, 09:05 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default educate me

Typically when I "detail" my car i wash it then just apply a wax(was using gold class, used nxt today) But after reading some of the post in here is seems like I should be doing more. So whats the best way to detail it so that it last longer?/looks better?
Old 05-20-2006, 12:47 AM
TECH Fanatic

I'm not experienced by any means, but this is what I do when I think the car needs a fresh clean:

1. Wash w/ dishwashing liquid to strip
2. Claybar (at this point, the car's paint looks like ***!)
3. Meguiar's Gold Class Wash (yes, I wash it twice)
4. Polish
5. Cleaner wax
6. Meguiar's Gold Class wax
7. Touch-ups with quick detailer

If you just wash your car and apply wax, at least use a claybar in between. You may be trapping contaminants between your clear coat and your new layer of wax.
Old 05-20-2006, 09:13 AM
11 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Well I just ordered one of these and can't wait to try it out.
Old 05-20-2006, 09:47 AM
Launching!

I don't always do all the right steps either, I simply don't have the time. Usually I wash mine, then polish, then wax. A few time a year it gets the clay bar, other times it gets a paint cleaner. I once spent 11 hours doing my car, looked fantastic when the sun was up the next day, because by the time I was done it was night and I was too damn tired to drive it anywhere. If you are going to just wash and then grab one bottle, pick up the polish and not the wax because wax is just a sealant, polish has all the "vitamins" your paint needs to stay healthy.
Old 05-20-2006, 09:51 AM
11 Second Club

Received 19 Likes on 14 Posts

Originally Posted by NightWindDriftr
I'm not experienced by any means, but this is what I do when I think the car needs a fresh clean:

1. Wash w/ dishwashing liquid to strip