Sponsored by:

GM Supermatic 4l85E

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2014, 09:48 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts

Default GM Supermatic 4l85E

http://www.gmperformancemotor.com/parts/19154550.html

Has any one used one of these transmissions or know of anyone who has?
Any opinion's will be welcome
Its to go behind an LS3 with an LS9 blower.
Old 10-13-2014, 08:35 AM

Received 398 Likes on 304 Posts

I wouldn't pay the list price of $3100 for one. At that price I would buy a much stronger 4L80E from e.g. Jake. The GM one won't have the billet input shaft and other improvements you should have when going over 700HP.
I'm no expert on the 4L8xE, but you are asking for opinions.
Old 10-13-2014, 09:33 AM
FormerVendor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I could build a substantially stronger 4L80E with billet parts including core and basically all of shipping for that price, if that gives you any perspective.
Old 10-13-2014, 11:49 PM
zgp
On The Tree

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by NorthTexasConverter
I could build a substantially stronger 4L80E with billet parts including core and basically all of shipping for that price, if that gives you any perspective.
Billet Input shaft, mainshaft and fwd hub included? plus torque converter..
Old 10-14-2014, 12:02 PM
FormerVendor

Originally Posted by zgp
Billet Input shaft, mainshaft and fwd hub included? plus torque converter..
Everything listed but the billet main shaft. That would be a bit extra. However, it's unlikely you would need the billet main shaft and not some kind of alternative for the intermediate sprag setup as well. You honestly may not be at a point where you need either of those in fact. How much power are we talking about here, what kind of RPMs will the car see and what's the weight?