Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

need help 1st time 60e overhaul

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2015, 08:38 PM
On The Tree

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default need help 1st time 60e overhaul

I have an 02 Silverado 5.3 4x4 4l60e with 215,000mi. It's my stock daily driver. It had developed a 3-4 flare about a month ago, so I r&r burnt fluid & filter and felt a slight change for the better. Also started saving as I'm on a real tight budget.
Yesterday it went to shift to 3rd and now i only have 1-2 and reverse.
It's parked in my drive now with a foot of snow but I do have a warm area to overhaul the trans at least! Planning on teardown this weekend and hopefully parts next week, then rebuild next weekend, install, then some pulls!
This is my first time removing and rebuilding a trans but I dont have a choice money wise I've only got about $800 and I'd love to have a higher stall converter.
Here's what I'm gathering as far as a order sheet.
Oregon performance master rebuild kit
Complete Bushing kit (makco transmission)
vette servo
Transgo boost valve
Transgo separator plate
Torlon check bals
Sonnax pinless fwd accumulator piston
I'm not sure if I'm missing things in the trans build but then I'd need a converter and clean out my cooler lines or buy and go standalone.
I do work my truck but not often, I've been babying the trans but i would love to be able to give it hell on the street often and know my trans should be fine and I've never had a high stall converter but i think I'd love it from what I've gathered.
Any tips or insight or leads to cheap quality part sources please let me know. I've gathered quite a bit of info offline I'm trying to sort through it
Old 02-20-2015, 09:11 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Sounds like you got all the bases covered only other thing I can think of is a trans go shift improver kit I put them in all my builds.
Old 02-20-2015, 10:12 PM
On The Tree

Could a screwed up maf or map cause this?