Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4L60E Problems

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2007, 12:52 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4L60E Problems

I did a search and found nothing. I am looking for a "How to" on replacing my front input shaft seal on the 4L60E (converter side). I have never done anything like this before so I need all the help I can get. I already got the seal and it looks easy enough, but, I have been wrong before. Is there any special tools I'll need? Thanks for any and all help.
Old 07-08-2007, 11:34 AM
TECH Enthusiast

yake tranny out take converter off and then replace the seal should take about 30 secs are you talkng about the front pump seal? get a seal puller and pull it out and then gently tap the new one in with a small hammer f you dont have a seal installer
Old 07-08-2007, 01:28 PM
On The Tree

While you have the seal out clean the pump with a non residue cleaner like brake clean . Then use some red locktite on the seal ! you can put it in without a special seal driver but you need to take care that you don't knock the spring loose in the seal !!!!!
Old 07-08-2007, 02:58 PM
10 Second Club

usually something causes the seal to go out, you need to check every thing good before deciding to just put a seal in it
Old 07-08-2007, 03:27 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by jay_lt4
usually something causes the seal to go out, you need to check every thing good before deciding to just put a seal in it
yep front pump bushing
Old 07-08-2007, 04:15 PM
LS1Tech Sponsor

Received 78 Likes on 56 Posts

Yes you need to inspect the front pump bushing also if possible observe the flex plate and make sure its running true before you pull the trans.I would also carfulley inspect the converter.

Call 888-744-6542

Old 07-08-2007, 04:25 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post