Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ratchet shifter - B&M QuickSilver

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2008, 06:43 AM
TECH Addict

Received 13 Likes on 8 Posts

Default Ratchet shifter - B&M QuickSilver

Ok I'll admit I'm new to these and being in the UK such a setup is very rare so I need some help from you guys.

I've seen this ratchet shifter:

http://www.bmracing.com/index.php?id...ubcat=1&pid=10

Now what I need is some insight on what it's like to install, use and what else I need.

As I understand it allows you to more easily manually shift the gears, I guess a bit like some of the modern step-tronic style setups.

If this is the case can I assume it doesn't affect being able to be used as a regular shifter and leave it in D and let it do the work?

How easy would it be to install one of these on a 4l60e in a 99 Camaro?

And what else would be needed? (I'm guessing something like Transgo shift kit )

Also how well would it stack up to being used with a 3600rpm stall.

As for those who have used/got one of these how responsive are the shifts? I guess this is more down to the tranny itself. But when you want to upshift does it do it straight off? Or is there delay?
Old 05-15-2008, 02:45 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey UK...I can't offer any installation tips but I had this shifter in my '70 Camaro. The car was strictly drag race. The converter was a PTC 8" 5000 on a built TH350. It ran/is running mid to low 10's and I never had a problem with it. I loved it, in fact.

I'm sure you can just drop it in drive and let it work but that will depend on how the tranny is set up. The shifter can handle either application. In my case, I had a manual valve body in the tranny, so it had to be shifted.