Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is my transmission trashed?

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2008, 02:16 AM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is my transmission trashed?

I'm kind of in a bind here because I just dropped a lot of money for a brand new rear because my 10 bolt blew only to fire it up and find out the tranny is more than likely done for.

A4 with a 4L65E and only 6k miles on it brand-new.

When I drop the car into the overdrive (4) selector the car just revs and won't move, same with drive (3). If I put it in 2 or 1 from a stop it will drive as normal, aside from the 1-2 shift slipping like all hell. Then after I get rolling I can put the car into drive (3) and it will shift into third, and the same for overdrive. But once I start to slow again those gears are no longer working.

Time for a Performabuilt level 2?

I have very little knowledge of transmissions so please dumb this down for me.

Thanks.
Old 09-22-2008, 07:05 AM
FLT
FormerVendor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I would suspect an input sprag failure. Please take some time at what we have to offer. Vince
Old 09-22-2008, 05:12 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

yea, my transmission just did the exact same thing...it was the sprag.
Old 09-22-2008, 05:50 PM
LS1Tech Sponsor

Received 78 Likes on 56 Posts

Yes its probably the sprag, Its a common secondary damage to a rear end failure

Call 888-744-6542

Old 09-22-2008, 06:38 PM
Launching!

same thing happened to me, these sponsers are very well knowledged, givem a call.
Old 09-22-2008, 07:58 PM
11 Second Club

Thanks guys. The transmission only had 6k miles on it and is still under warranty from GM so looks like I won't be needing a built one just yet. Probably will get one before next racing season though as this one should last me through the winter.