Cadillac CTS-V 2004-2007 (Gen I) The Caddy with an Attitude...

Rear Suspension Questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2016, 09:02 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rear Suspension Questions

Ok, so I'm building a TT V1, I'm new to this platform and have some questions about the rear setup.. Let me tell you my plan, I'm going with all GForce goodies, including 9" fabbed housing, and axles, now what I'm trying to sort out is, what would be the advantage to bolting in the 2nd gen rear setup if I'm using all GForce stuff, and going to go to 5 bolt??

I've looked at a bunch of pics, I just don't see that much different between the gen 1 and 2. I know the center section bolts in a little different, but that's not gonna change anything, really. I'm gonna solid mount the center section to the rear cradle. I need to go 5 lug, and I believe, 33 spline.

Anyhow, is there anyone around here that knows the 1st and 2nd gens well? This car is a SERIOUS twin turbo build, already has a full cage in it. I'm looking to sort out the rear, now.

Thanks guys!

Last edited by TT-CTSV1; 12-20-2016 at 09:10 PM.
Old 12-20-2016, 09:34 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Have you considered the 8.8 rear that is much more readily available and well proven?
Old 12-20-2016, 09:39 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by MN_V
Have you considered the 8.8 rear that is much more readily available and well proven?
Gonna be making a solid 2000whp, and must have all the strength possible. I was going to dump the IRS and go with a 9" rear and some sort of 4 link, but decided to give the IRS a go. As I said, it'll be all Gforce stuff.
Old 12-20-2016, 10:01 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
LS1Tech 10 Year

That's absolutely not true. The 9" is just as available and more proven.
Old 12-20-2016, 10:04 PM
TECH Fanatic

Sounds like a drag car - go solid axle if you can.
Old 12-20-2016, 10:05 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by FuzzyLog1c