Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine wiring issue.

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2010, 04:54 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine wiring issue.

I am in the process of swapping a lm7 engine with a t70 turbo into a 1989 camaro rs. I know of all the parts that i need or the swap but i need to know about wiring it all up. Im new to LS engines, and fuel injection because all of the other cars i have worked on were carburated. I was not given the wiring harness or computer with the engine. How should i go about wiring this mess up? my guess would be that i would just buy an LS1 wiring harness and morph it into the wiring harness that was in the car for the lights, and signals and electronics.

Also, if this makes any difference, i am planning on buying a 5 switch toggle panel to run the fuel pump and fan and ignition off of. How should i go about wiring all of these together in the most budget friendly way.

I know i could buy a painless kit but they are $800+ and i can't really afford that. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

-Michael
Old 01-23-2010, 05:22 PM
TECH Addict

Received 39 Likes on 27 Posts

Buy a LS1 harness if wiring scares you from any company

For a DIY, use whatever you can get the cheapest, LS1 Fbody, truck or even cobbled together from JY connectors. Expect it to take 15-20 hours
Several good wiring threads specifically for 3rd gens
http://www.thirdgen.org/techboard/lt...third-gen.html
Old 01-23-2010, 05:27 PM
Staging Lane

lol thanks Pocket, i am a member to that forum as well so i will do a search there.

It's not that im scared of wiring , its just that im new to it and i really am kind of going at it blind. I figured if i could get the ls1 harness and then conform it with the stock camaro one that'd be the easiest way. Thanks for the quick help.

Any other input on the topic would be great.

-Michael
Old 01-24-2010, 09:33 PM
On The Tree

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts