Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to site looking for help with a LS drop into a 71 C10

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2011, 07:30 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to site looking for help with a LS drop into a 71 C10

Hey guys I am currently building a 1971 shortbed C10 2wd Chevy. I have completed my chassis and I am considering putting a LS motor from a 05-06 Tahoe into the truck. I have never done this before and have found a 5.3 motor complete with harness,CPU and transmission what are some things to look for that will be needed to complete this conversion. Thanks for any help you can give!!
Old 09-18-2011, 08:44 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 194 Likes on 140 Posts

If you get a DBW engine you'll need the TAC module and pedal. If you're new to this, then it's always easier to get a complete pull out with everything out of the same truck to avoid problems with parts being incompatible with others, DBW can be hard to mix match and have work right.

I'm also building a '71 shortbed at the moment, but last year built a '72. You can see my build in my sig.

If you have any questions don't hesitate to ask.
Old 09-19-2011, 12:07 AM
Teching In

Thanks here is a little background on it my buddy owns a shop. This is a Vortec motor out of a 05/06 Tahoe. It is a complete pull motor and tranny are still mated harness, CPU full pulley system and fan are still there as well fuel and tranny lines are still attached. What is a DBW and the TAC module and Pedal. I have never messed with a swap of this size and want to make sure I know what to look for. Also motor has approximately 40,000 miles on it and he wants 2,500 for whole setup. Good deal or not. I appreciate any help thank you
Old 09-19-2011, 07:59 AM
LS1Tech Sponsor

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts