Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

66 GM A-body LSX swap

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2008, 12:13 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 66 GM A-body LSX swap

Someone steer me in the right direction. Total noob to this but I am going to commit to converting this car.

Looking for any and all recommendations or a place to go get them.

The car currently has a 470 ci engine that is estimated to make 550 hp at the flywheel. I'd like something that makes reasonably close power but is much more streetable than this thing and might make a little mileage to boot. It would be nice to throw the family in and go to grandma's house too.

Looking for advice in selecting the proper engine, parts and conversion items from headers to engine mounts to the whole electrical system.

Thanks for any help guys.
Old 06-23-2008, 09:32 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

For that range of HP, Are you looking to be NA, FI or NOS ? are you looking for a Create or having one built?

You can always start with one of the larger create engine; GM LS7 or one of the Katech's or TurnKey! Suggest you seach in the Internal Engine section to get some indeas of what others are running and what power range. Also check out the many sponsors websites that you see on the right.

Or start with one of the 6.0L or 6.2L block and go from there. Many good Head and Cam selection out there now !

As far as swapping the Gen III/VI, search on some of the A-Body (there are a few guys doing 66 and 67 now or have completed them) threads, it is simple enough. Many have complete mounting kits; S&P, BRP, etc...

You can either modify your harness yourself or send it off to companys like Speartech, Wait4meperformance, S&P or many other. Many of them will flash your PCM to get you up and rerunning.
Old 06-23-2008, 10:39 AM
11 Second Club

You also have to consider how much weight you are gonna knock off the nose of your car.
Old 06-23-2008, 10:47 AM
TECH Resident