Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Going to the track.......First time

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2007, 09:53 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Going to the track.......First time

I plan on going to the track in March. I am running BFG drag radials size 275/40/17 I was wondering what PSI to start out with? Also what tips to use with them?

I am also a M6 car with a stock clutch (pervious owner replaced it with a stock replacement clutch) and a stock 10 bolt. What recommendations do you have on launch technique?

Also my suspension mods are in my sig. With adding a Spohn Street/strip roll bar (1inch diameter)

Also what kind of times do you predict? I am a good driver just have never been to a good prepped track, just on the street.
Old 02-12-2007, 10:27 PM
12 Second Club

I assume you have the stock gears in the rear? Don't bog the car. Parts will break. Leave at about 4500 rpm and release the clutch quickly. Don't slip the clutch on takeoff. If the car bogs, add more air pressure and or do less to no burnout. If tires spin more than one rotation on launch let air out and get tires hotter. If the car wheelhops, abandon these techniques and just take off like from a traffic light and roll into the gas pedal. Wheelhop WILL break parts, especially spider gears. Remember don't slip the clutch exessively off the line. Overheated cluthes stick and cause hard shifting for the run. This will lead to syncro failure. If clutch slips and burns when leaving at high rpm while car does not accelorate (this happened to me with my 55 Chevy when I got it), replace clutch with street/strip unit like Ram HDX or Centerforce dual friction.