Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Did ur insurance company send an agent to check mods?

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2009, 04:51 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Did ur insurance company send an agent to check mods?

Car is worth aound 10 grand and invested 15 grand on mods including a supercharger. It's a 96 SS and isn't driveable yet but started thinking about insurance. Called my insurance company and they said they have to send an agent to verify all the mods to give me a new quote. I have no experience what so ever in this and thought to ask you guys.

As many of you out there, I keep my car in a garage, rain/snow is not an option. I understand the more mods the more expensive isurance will be but wanted to ask your opinion about this thing, do you mention every mod, do insurance companies have "special" policies for supercharged cars ? Whatever you can tell me regarding this issue will be greatly appreciated, just trying to do my home work using info from your own experience.

Thank you guys.

Adam
Old 02-03-2009, 04:53 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

my insurance company doesnt have a clue what is done to my car...

2900#'s
fully built ls1 skinnies yada yada yada...

never would know.. if yu wreck it.. pull everything off and put it back to stock, then let em have it.. or buy it back..
Old 02-03-2009, 04:59 PM
TECH Apprentice

I see, that was another question I wanted to ask, how many of you notify the insurance.
I understand your point, however, what if the wreck was bad enough to destroy most of your mods, then what !!

Last edited by powerhousecamaro; 02-03-2009 at 05:12 PM.
Old 02-03-2009, 05:02 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

i have full coverage with limited driving. i'm not supposed to drive over 3k a year.
Old 02-03-2009, 05:02 PM
TECH Senior Member

Originally Posted by powerhousecamaro