Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

New to the Turbo world, need opinions on my combo

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2010, 01:59 PM
TDP
FormerVendor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default New to the Turbo world, need opinions on my combo

I have a lot of experience with just about everything else, but have never really messed with turbos, and have never had a turbo car until now.
Just picked up a Camaro SS with a 60mm STS turbo kit on it. Has the "small" spring, and the guy said I should upgrade it to the bigger one. I would like that cleared up for me...lol

Now, the main question that I have is if I have a good combination of parts to achieve my goal. The Camaro has a knocking 150k LS1 motor in it currently. So I need to change out the motor. I'm not planning to ever make over 500rwhp. I just want to keep it mild, so I don't have to go and spend a lot of money on forged internals, fuel system, etc... Basically, I don't want to waste money on doing an over-kill on everything like I usually do.
I found an LQ4 6.0 with low miles. I plan to simply change out the piston rings with plasma-moly ones, then install a Z06 cam (or maybe a bigger cam?). The old 5.7 LS1 in the car now already has a Z06 cam, chromoly pushrods, and 918 springs. The car made 462rwhp with stock heads and stock LS1 intake. Maybe the bigger 6.0 engine with the better 317 heads and a LS6 or L92 intake will get me to 500rwhp? I heard the LQ4 has 9.0:1 compression...is this true? Also will the 7.40in pushrods work with the LQ4?

Any suggestions? Does this sound like a good combo?
Old 12-18-2010, 02:15 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 146 Likes on 73 Posts
LS1Tech 10 Year

dont go turbo if you dont want 500+ whp.. get a rebuilt ls1 throw a nice set of heads on it with a matched cam and ported fast intake and youll see 460whp, all only needing walbro fuel pump and 42lb injectors for fuel. which could all be picked up for not too much more money if you sold the sts kit..