Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Fresh Build. Help with high MATs!!! Air/Water/Ice Intercooler

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2016, 06:55 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

Default Fresh Build. Help with high MATs!!! Air/Water/Ice Intercooler

Looking to you guys for some assistance in regards to the high MATs I'm experiencing with my new combo. I'm new to the turbo world having come from a 2.9L Whipple combo.

The basics of the setup are:
LC9 Aluinumm 5.3
Forged Rods
Forged Pistons
Stock 317 heads
9:1 Compression
LJMS Stg 3 turbo cam.
LJMS S484 w/ 1.10AR
Holley High Ram
417 Motorsports AIR/Water Intercooler
5 Gallon Icebox w/ Rule2000 In-Tank pump
Holley HP ECM
E85
Manual T56 Trans

Now. First day out at the track I was very pleased, on 17lbs I managed to trap 139mph at 4,000lbs weight, but felt I was being held back on the high end. After reviewing the logs I found that MAT started around 60*, had risen to 140*+ before the 1/8th mile and peaked at 204* going through the 1/4 traps, obviously pulling a LOT of timing out of my already soft tune. I was going through the traps with only 8* of timing.

That said. Why are my MATs climbing so high, and so fast? This was repeatable and consistent and every run had 20lbs of ice in the icebox and verified pump flow and function. Here are a couple of pics, including the location of the MAT sensor which has also been tested and functioning.

Any and all info much appreciated. I need to get this sorted so I can get the rest of my power on gate pressure and then turn up!!!

Last edited by gtistile; 11-03-2016 at 07:01 AM. Reason: added pics
Old 11-03-2016, 07:37 AM
9 Second Club

Received 179 Likes on 154 Posts

I'm more surprised the initial temp seen is so low given sensor location.