Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

help buid up for FI!

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2006, 01:41 AM
10 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help buid up for FI!

hey guys im a newbie and i was just wondering what forged internals i need? should i get a forged block? money is tight so i dont want to go out and buy a short block, so im going to build it. will the stock crank and stock rods hold up? or do i need to go forged? and if so what are some part numbers? and what pistons are yall running to get the compression down? what head bolts? what heads? i see a lot of people running the ls6 heads, but guys i need hekp quick! and if possible list the place and and the part numbers i can find these parts at. thanks
Old 04-12-2006, 04:37 AM
EPP
FormerVendor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Is your engine an LT1 or an LS1? Bob
Old 04-12-2006, 07:49 AM
10 Second Club

the motor is a ls1
Old 04-12-2006, 07:58 AM
TECH Addict

Received 13 Likes on 8 Posts

What are your plans, i.e. rwhp, boost and so forth.

I've been considering what's the best approach for FI and IMO unless you have plenty of spare money this is how I would do it.

Assuming the rest of the car (chassis, suspension, etc.) are upto spec. I would simply buy a kit that had the potential for what I eventually want 550-650rwhp.

Then just slap it on with the supporting bolt ons and fuel requirements and run a lesser setup until it goes bang. While you are having some fun with it (probably 7-10psi and 450-500rwhp area, setup dependant) you can save up and build yourself a replacement engine.

I like the idea of a fully built 402ci (aluminium block) or 408ci (cast iron block) setup with a CR nearer 9-9.5:1 and forged internals. Using a sensible blower cam and some good heads. when it's finished simply swap it in and if the old 346ci is still in working order sell it.