Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

can you do this?

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2007, 09:17 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default can you do this?

I"m not to sure if this is true or not. i have read somewhere that you can use a tubro off of a diesel truck. I have no experience with this kind of matter. I am also wondering what would gom in to this process. Well thanks in Advance for the replies.
Jamie
Old 03-05-2007, 09:31 AM
Launching!

From talking to some Technitions that i worked with at a dealership this is not really possible becaues of the amount of backpressure that it takes to spool up a deseil turbo. I was wondering the same thing thats why i asked them. Basicly they said that it wouldn't spool up at all untill maybe 5500 rpm so it wouldn't help really at all.

Josh
Old 03-05-2007, 10:31 AM
LS1TECH Sponsor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Alot of people use straight diesel units on gas engines..they will work but typically are slow spooling.
Old 03-05-2007, 03:56 PM
On The Tree

what kind of power can you expect from this, and how much does it usually cost in doing this?
Thanks
Old 03-05-2007, 05:22 PM
TECH Enthusiast

It's not so much max power as power under the curve. I remember reading somewhere that diesel creates something like 2.8 times the exhaust volume as gasoline which is why they turbine housings are so much larger for a given engine/compressor size. As was said above, you can use a diesel turbo just fine but it will spool slow.
Old 03-06-2007, 06:53 PM
Launching!

I think it all depends on the diesel , I have a pair of t04b's. that (are soon to be on my stock 5.7.)
from john deere tractor. I actully had 3 and mounted one in my cousins 2.8 vr6 jetta it spooled late but his motor would **** @ 7k. the diesel was a 329ci spun 3k rpm.