Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

Need advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2010, 07:22 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Need advice

Gonna put a built rearend under my car soon...Need some advice.

I am trying to do some homework on all the rearend options for my 98 z28. I'm new at this. All I know right now is that I will likely break my stock rearend soon and will be replacing it regardless, before or after that occurs...It has never given me a single problem...yet. I would like to put a stronger, narrowed rearend under that car. Could i get some advice if I tell you a little about my car and my end goals?

A little about my car and my goals:

The car will ultimately be a street car, built in a way that I will also be able to drag race well on the weekends. It will have street suspension, not drag suspension. It will have 17x9.5 front wheels and 17x11 rears and 315 series Nitto DRs.

I want the rearend narrowed in order to run a deep dish wheel. It might end up with a set of drag wheels later, strictly for track use. I know at that point it might progress more towards a drag suspension with different springs/shocks, but I am trying to keep this car as streetable as possible, with the ability to carve corners and stop quickly, yet still hook up well and have fast ETs at the strip.

I understand that EVERYTHING is a trade off and u can't have the best of both worlds, but I'm shooting for somewhere in the middle. For now, street car, street suspension, drag race tendencies.