General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Is this noise something more than normal LS1 noise. (sound clip)

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2007, 11:57 PM
TECH Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Is this noise something more than normal LS1 noise. (sound clip)

I just started getting this valve chatter noise. It didn't make this noise before I installed a PTB, replaced a bad check valve, and changed the oil twice. First mobile 1 0W-40, then 5w-40. Oil pressure is good and it runs good but it also makes this same type of chatter at low rpm's when it first shifts into 2nd and 3rd gear under light throttle. It's a lot worse in 2nd than 3rd.

In the video you can hear it best toward the end when the rpm's are coming down it sounds like valve chatter. I'm no expert but to me it also sounds like I might also have a vacuum leak when I first press the throttle cam the last few times but I can't seem to find it if there is one.

I'm still new to these motors so I'm not exactly sure what normal is but I don't think this noise is normal. I kind of think it has to be something I did. Maybe the check valve is the wrong one or I have a vacuum leak somewhere.

http://s132.photobucket.com/albums/q...ent=072306.flv
Old 04-13-2007, 03:25 AM
TECH Addict

A bad check valve as in AIR check valve? Logically, a valve noise would not start because of that, why did you change the oil twice?

It would seem that your check valve gasket may be leaking. Other than that it is very difficult to hear anything on your video.
Old 04-13-2007, 08:10 AM
TECH Regular

Yeah, it was a bad Air check valve that I replaced on the driver's side and the noise is definitely coming from the passenger side of the motor.