Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What headers will not decrease my HP or torque

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2003, 10:50 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default What headers will not decrease my HP or torque

I read a post on here sayin after this person installed some new headers that his vehicle lost a significant amount of low end torque and he lost the "seat of his pants" feeling when flooring the pedal(this was on an LS1). I have a 99 firehawk with the SLP dual/dual and do not want any power lost what so ever, so can someone tell me what style, brand, size, etc etc etc kind of headers i need to purchase that will fit and add massive gains. It is hard for me because i am new to this stuff and I have read so many posts on here that i am confused now.
thanks
Old 10-29-2003, 10:59 PM
TECH Resident

I have SLP's longtubes. I'm very satisfied with them. The car feels awesome. I have yet to dyno. So I can't offer hard evidence. Ask for dyno sheets and stay away from "my friends car made this much hp+tq' yada yada crap. If I had to do it all over again.. I would have gone with QTP. But for now I love my SLP lt's.
Old 10-30-2003, 11:17 AM
Back in the staging lane

unless you have serious tuning issues or something, you aren't going to LOSE anything with headers. There are so many to choose from. You kinda need to decide how much you want to spend.
Old 10-30-2003, 12:30 PM
On The Tree

Does it make a difference what they are coated with?
Old 10-30-2003, 01:29 PM
TECH Junkie