Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2004 GTO LS1 Oil Pressure Gauge Install Conflict Help!

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2014, 02:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2004 GTO LS1 Oil Pressure Gauge Install Conflict Help!

Hi All,

I am having a major conflict that I am having a heck of a time figuring out. I have a 2004 GTO LS1 that I am trying to install an oil pressure gauge in.

I have been reading in multiple forums that it is possible to tap into the oil sending unit in the back of the motor and use an adapter that Auto Meter makes (PN# 2268 LS Series Oil Pressure Sender Adapter) to make the threads compatible.

I have also been reading that the computer does not require the oil sending unit at all and will not throw a check engine light?

I do not want to drill and tap above the oil filter because it is to much work and I am not a mechanic lol.

Anyway, is this possible? If so, do I need to use a mechanical or electric gauge or will either one work? Your help is much appreciated!

Thank you
Old 09-19-2014, 02:31 PM
TECH Addict

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

The computer does not care about the oil pressure in my LS1 application so I think you are safe there. BUT if you add that adapter and go with an aftermarket gauge(and correct; Autometer does sell the right adapter to get to 1/8" NPT like almost all aftermarket gauges), your factory gauge in the dash will be dead. Seems inconsequential but trust me--it will bother the crap out of you eventually!

I suggest you replace your oil cooler block-off plate with one that already has the 1/8" hole tapped in it. Two bolts and you can have both gauges working..leave the factory piece alone. IMO, the side of the motor right above the oil filter is far easier to get to than the factory location anyway.