Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Headers? ORY? CATS? CHECK ENGINE LIGHT?

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2006, 06:38 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Headers? ORY? CATS? CHECK ENGINE LIGHT?

Alright Fellas... Here we go....Im new to this...

I want a good setup here, I already have a SLP Loud Mouth II Exhaust But I want A good set of LT Headers with a ORY (I think Ill either go with pacesetters or hooker) But When I install this Do I need the cats? One thing I do not want is the CHECK ENGLINE LIGHT to always be on.. Help me with a good setup.. with out the devil check engine light.. Tell me what I need... HELP!!!!
Old 08-08-2006, 06:40 PM
TECH Apprentice

buy 2 o2 simulator's for the rear o2s or get them tuned out If you really really dont want the check engine light, also buy bosch o2 sensor 13111 (for the front 2) and you wont have any problems for a long while.

the stock front sensors tend to get lazy with LT headers without being changed.
Old 08-08-2006, 06:43 PM
TECH Resident

OK... Ur kinda speeoking in tounge for me.. What about the cats? All I have to do is get simulator and Im good?
Old 08-08-2006, 06:52 PM
TECH Apprentice

haha sorry man I chill on these boards too much

o2 simulator's will fake your car into thinking that the cats are working in absolute perfect running condition (even tho they are entirely missing )

and with the long tube header install the front sensors tend to not heat up as well so that will throw a check engine light if you dont constantly drive in like 90 degree weather. So that's why the Boshe replacements will fix that, they have a better heating element. If you go into any parts store like pepboys, just ask for the bosch rear o2 sensors for a 2000 corvette (yes you read that right, you're putting rear vette sensors on the front sensors of your camaro)