Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Custom or Bolt-On Exhaust?

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2007, 07:23 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Custom or Bolt-On Exhaust?

I was looking at the differences in price and performance between a true dual custom exhaust and a bolt on setup (ex. mangaflow, borla, flowmaster, etc..) I am new to the F-body scene, but common sense would dictate that a custom true-dual exhaust setup is probably more expensive and has better performance than a bolt on kit. Can anyone clue me in on what the average gain of true dual over bolt on is, and the approximate price difference between the two? I am trying to decide what I should do with my exhaust, and don't want to spend a ton of money. I have a 2000 SS Camaro M6... Thanks!!
Old 09-26-2007, 08:21 AM
Launching!

well from what i've heard there is no real difference in power gaines and true duals will cost more so it's really what you want it to sound like
Old 09-26-2007, 11:16 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

about the cheapest decent sounding and decent built catback is gonna be $400

TSP sells true duals for just over $400 i think (for headers)

a custom TD setup can be built for less than that. i think my Xpipe was $100, my magnaflow mufflers were $75 each, and then just some brackets/hangers. you could easily get some bullets for 1/2 the cost of my magnaflows to save $$.

few hours on my back cutting and grinding...and then i think $50 at the exhaust shop to do the final welding.

this was on LT headers....but i can't imagine running off stock manifolds would be much worse.

granted this is assuming you dump the TDs at the axles. over the axles get more $$ due to more fabrication.