Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Corsa too loud?

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2003, 11:04 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Corsa too loud?

Newbie here with an exhaust dilemma:

Bought a Corsa catback a few months ago as the first major mod...sounds great, love it. Recently got the 224/114 cam, hooker LT's, !cats & pulley installed (389 rwhp on an A4 - thanks Speed Inc.)

Here's the dilemma: imo only, this sucker is LOUD. Even got pulled over driving home from Speed Inc! It sounds fine at idle but screams like a stuck pig at WOT.

Here are my options to soften it up:
1) Weld one Random Tech cat into the middle of this thing (was told this might help with some rasp but not soften the sound too much)
2) Replace the new Corsa with a used SLP catback for fairly cheap.
3) Try another catback: Hooker, Borla, Magnaflow...any suggestions w/ the LT's & cam?
4) Live with it...start a fund for tickets.

Please help!

Old 06-12-2003, 08:56 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Re: Corsa too loud?

ttt
Old 06-12-2003, 09:16 PM
Restricted User

I have FLP headers and I just put the cats on when I am not at the track.
Old 06-12-2003, 10:09 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Try putting in some high flow cats. They should help keep the noise down as well as get rid of the rasp (and lower the stench). That's the main reason why I keep mine.
Old 06-13-2003, 02:16 AM
TECH Senior Member

Get a 5 gallon water jusg and start putting your change out of your pockets in it at the end of everyday
Old 06-13-2003, 03:29 AM
TECH Enthusiast