Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Steve Martinez Stage 2 Heads

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2004, 12:22 PM
10 Second Club

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Default Steve Martinez Stage 2 Heads

first off, i am not a profesional head porter so dont tell me these suck. i have been porting the heads that i run on my engines for years and have had good success. these are my first set of LS1 heads that i have done. they are 706 5.3/4.8 castings. i installed ferra 2.02/1.57 valves they were machined by GTP. one of the exhuast valves was from MTI and is a little bit different but oh well. these valves came out nice with a good radius on them instead of a single angle back cut. a machine shop here in corpus also put a real nice cut on the seats. a multiangle job on the intake and a nice radius on the exhuast. i also deshrouded the cambers all the way to a 4.00 bore since these are for my iron block. because of that, these will not fit on a stock none sleeved LS1 block. then i blended in the seats, cleaned up the pockets, narrowed down the guides alot (spend alot of time there), raised the roof a little bit (not to to much), grinded down that little peace that covers the bottom of the rocker bolt, cleaned up the short radius, debured the chambers, polised everything, laped the valves to see where they were hitting, checked spring height (i could not get 1.8 out of them but it was very close), assembled with crane duals and steel retainters (i could not afford titaniums), and finally checked with carb cleaner to see if everything was sealing. i was a little bit worried about that one MTI exhaust valve. it would not seat at first but after a hour or so lapping it, it was fine. i started up the motor yeasterday and it did not have any misfires so i guess it will be alright. i flowed these on my own home made flow bench but all i can tell with that is if it made a difference or not. after flowing some heads i have around the garage, i found that they flowed more then stock, better then